Skip to content

This Association was founded in 1976. There are now twelve branches throughout New Zealand, and members range from small block owners to those with large commercial flocks. Some produce wool for use in their own handcrafts such as spinning, felting and weaving, or to sell to craftspeople. Others are involved in commercial production of natural coloured wool products, or breed for high quality sheepskins. Some do not own sheep, but have an interest in natural coloured wool.

Shared objectives include producing the best possible sheep and wool, and promoting coloured wool for its special qualities. There is a Registered Purebred section which aims to produce and record sheep that display the best characteristics of their breed.

The management of the Association is vested in a Management Committee of six members comprising a President, Vice-President, Treasurer, Secretary and a representative each from the North and South Islands.

A number of committees will undertake specific responsibilities for the Association, and there will be other responsibilities assigned to individual members.

Association Office Holders

Julie Howden, Southland

Craig Campbell

Melissa Bennett, Gisborne

Steve Clarkson, Manawatu

North Island Representative:
Wendy Allison, Wairarapa

South Island Representative:
Stuart Albrey, South Canterbury-Waitaki

Honorary Life Members

Honorary life membership is granted to an individual person for furthering the interests of the breeders of coloured sheep or for services to the Association.

Current Life Members

Brian Croot – Winton
Leo Ponsonby – Rolleston
Shirley Wallace – Lower Moutere
Derek W. Weber – Taradale

Back To Top